hi people, I am a newbie to Java OOP,i cam across this example in a text book, but i just cldn't understand how the area is calculated.

hope that someone can explain this simple problem to me

the code is:

public class TestPassingObject
{
// Main method
public static void main ( String [ ] args )
{
// Create a Circle object with default radius 1
Circle myCircle = new Circle ( );

// Print areas for radii 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5
int n = 5;
printAreas ( myCircle, n );

// See myCircle.radius and times
System.out.println ( " \n " + " Radius is " + myCircle.radius );
System.out.println ( " n is " + n );
}

// Print a table of areas for radius
public static void printAreas ( Circle c, int times )
{
System.out.println ( " Radius \t \t Area " );
while ( times >= 1)
{
System.out.println ( c.radius + " \t \t " + c.findArea ( ) );
c.radius ++;
times--;
}
}
}

and the results are :

Radius       Area

1.0          3.14159

2.0          12.56636

3.0          28.27431

4.0          50.26544

5.0          78.53975

Radius is 6.0

n is 5

thanks in advance : )

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

The area is found when then findArea() method is called on the circle object. Area of a circle is its radius * Pi.

So, the Cicle object most likely takes it's radius (that must be hard coded to be set at 1 when a new instance of Circle is created) and multiplies it by Pi.

On a side note, i'm not sure if i'm a fan of the radius attribute of the Circle being public. There should be a setter and a getter for the Circle's radius attribute.

Regards,

Nate

hi Nate,

thanks for the reply...i have another question tat is, since i did not defined the formulae for the calculation of the area, didi the method do the calculation on its own? i mean, is there a defined formulae for the calculation of the area?

rgds,
tris