I'm creating my second application. I'm not very good at coding. If i make dump mistake please bare with me.

I can't get this Progress bar to work, I tried few steps. I'm writing this application to copying the Host file to a folder in desktop for troubleshooting purpose at Office. (there are few more if i can get this to work i can replicate the same for others)

This is the code

Private Sub Button6_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Button6.Click
        Dim USERPROFILE As String
        If ProgressBar1.Value < ProgressBar1.Maximum Then
            ProgressBar1.Value += 100
        Else
            ProgressBar1.Value = ProgressBar1.Minimum
        End If
        USERPROFILE = Environ("HOMEPATH")
        IO.Directory.CreateDirectory(USERPROFILE & "\Desktop\TechSupport")
        Dim oShell : oShell = CreateObject("WScript.shell")
        oShell.Run("CMD /C copy %windir%\system32\drivers\etc\HOSTS C:\hosts.txt", 0, True)
        My.Computer.FileSystem.CopyFile("C:\hosts.txt", USERPROFILE & "\Desktop\TechSupport\hosts.txt",
        Microsoft.VisualBasic.FileIO.UIOption.AllDialogs,
        Microsoft.VisualBasic.FileIO.UICancelOption.DoNothing)
        My.Computer.FileSystem.DeleteFile("C:\hosts.txt")
        MsgBox("Thank You for your Patience.")

End Sub

Private Sub ProgressBar1_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles ProgressBar1.Click

End Sub

What modification i have to make to get the Progress bar correctly.

Thanks in advance

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Please explain what you are trying to do. The code does not make sense to me.

If the value is between Min and Max then it will go to 0

Your ELSE statement will never execute because if the value is greater then the Max it will Error.

Hi captain Jack