Hi everyone, novice here. I'm having some major issues trying to figure out what's going wrong with my code.

The general problem is that I can't get the foreign key in one of my child tables to populate the primary key from the parent table. I have a parent table named "ISSUES" and a child table named "ISSDESC". The primary key for ISSUES is ISS_ID which is an autonumber. The foreign key is ISS_ID in the ISSDESC table which is just a number. I'm using MS Access and an OLEDBConnection as the method. I've created the relationship in MS Access and also created the datarelation in the VB.NET code.

I am able to submit the information into the database into the two tables but the foreign key isn't being populated therefore not being linked to the other table.

I think it's probably a very simple fix, but it's been eluding me for a good 8 hours or so. I am using a dataset and 2 data adapters, one for each table.

Imports System.Data
Imports System.Data.OleDb
Imports System.IO

Partial Public Class _Default
    Inherits System.Web.UI.Page

Protected Sub btnSubmit_Click(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As EventArgs) Handles btnSubmit.Click
        Dim con As New OleDb.OleDbConnection
        Dim dbProvider As String
        Dim dbSource As String
        Dim ds As New DataSet
        Dim da, da2 As OleDb.OleDbDataAdapter
        Dim sql, sql2 As String
        Dim dsNewRow, dsNewRow2 As DataRow
        Dim x As String

dbProvider = "PROVIDER=Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0;"
        dbSource = "Data Source = C:\Users\John\Documents\UHITTracking\HelpDesk.mdb"
        con.ConnectionString = dbProvider & dbSource

sql = "SELECT * FROM ISSUES;"
        sql2 = "SELECT * FROM ISSDESC;"
        da = New OleDb.OleDbDataAdapter(sql, con)
        da2 = New OleDb.OleDbDataAdapter(sql2, con)
        Dim cb As New OleDb.OleDbCommandBuilder(da)
        Dim cb2 As New OleDb.OleDbCommandBuilder(da2)

con.Open()
        da.Fill(ds, "issues")
        da2.Fill(ds, "issuedesc")

Dim dr As DataRelation