Hello everybody

I thought I understood inheritance but it turns out I don't.

I am creating an SDL/OpenGL mini-GUI library.
I have a master class, GUIComponent, with subclasses such as TextLabel under it.

I have a vector called guiList that is initialized as std::vector<GUIUnit*> guiList (it's extern'd and initialized elsewhere; it's not a visibility problem). It contains pointers to a custom class called GUIUnit.

These GUIUnits have a function, getComponent(int) , that retrieves the argument's indexed value from a vector of pointers to GUIComponents. That too, works.

I have a subclass of GUIComponent called TextLabel. I can add them to the vector with no problem. However, I want to use the call guiList[0]->getComponent(1)->getFont() to get a %s-thingy that I can use for printf() debugging output. However, I get a compilation error that the class GUIComponent has no member getFont(). However, TextLabel does, and getComponent(1) returns a GUIComponent that is actually a TextLabel.

If anybody can understand me I have two questions.

1. Is this legal? (For example, can I set a GUIComponent as the return of a function and instead return a subclass?)
  2. What would work?
  3. Why is the compiler complaining?

Thank you very much in advance and have a happy New Year.
epicbeast9022

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

> s this legal? (For example, can I set a GUIComponent as the return of a function and instead return a subclass?)

Yes. For example:

GUIComponent* getComponent() { return new TextLabel( /* ... */ )

is fine, provided TextLabel is a derived class of GUIComponent.

> Why is the compiler complaining?

The compile-time type of the result of the function is a pointer to GUIComponent (though the run-time of the pointed object might be TextLabel). And the compiler cannot see a member-function getFont() in GUIComponent.

> What would work?