Hi To All,
I am a newbie.
I have 4 computers that I want to connect together as a LAN. I have a switch and ready cables.
One of the computers C1 will have a sqldatabase to be accessed by the other computers C2,C3 and C4.

1. How do I connect the computers so that my VB.net application should access the database?
  2. How do I set the connection string in the VB.net application to communicate with database in C1 when I have deployed it?

I intend to create a setup for the vb.net application and deploy it to C1, C2, C3 and C4.

Please give me a step-by-step explanation with examples. I know I need to make use of IP addresses.
No security configurations required.

Also refer to useful links if any.
Thanks

Votes + Comments
Contributors
Replies
Views
3 Years
Discussion Span
Last Post by gbhs

How do I connect the computers so that my VB.net application should access the database?

If you mean how to create a network, there are a lot of options. The easiest approach is to buy a network switch with at least 4 ports and plug each computer into a switch port. Assign an IP address to each computer on the same subnet.

How do I set the connection string in the VB.net application to communicate with database in C1 when I have deployed it?

In the connection string, for the target server, you can specify the computer's netbios name if the 4 computers are on the same subnet, or the FQDN (fully qualified domain name) if this is part of a larger network with DNS, or the target IP address, if you are just doing this as a test and just need to quickly set this up.

For the connection:

Dim con as New MysqlConnection
Dim connectionstring As String

con = New MysqlConnection
connectionstring = ("Server = 127.0.0.1; User = root; password = mypassword; database = databasename")
con.ConnectionString = connectionstring 'the one defined in the previous line

con.open 'open the connection

'do what you want to do

con.close 'close the connection