Hi,

I have a vbscript which calls a batch file. Now I want my vbscript variables to be passed to batch file. Is this possible? Please assist

Thanks,
SOW

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

This works, so you can write a com wrapper for it.

Option Explicit

Private Declare Function SetEnvironmentVariable Lib "kernel32" Alias "SetEnvironmentVariableA" (ByVal lpName As String, ByVal lpValue As String) As Long

Private Sub Command1_Click()

SetEnvironmentVariable "xxx", "yyy"
    Shell "c:\test.bat"

'// rem bat file
    '// echo %xxx%
    '// rem ftp wait for input so window will stay opened
    '// ftp

End Sub

Vieditorlover,

Thanks for that reply. I'm quite new to scripting and I was getting compilation error. Could please explain it in bit detail..

I will tell you the scenario and the example code i'm taking here..

My .vbs file has the following code :

dim a
dim WshShell
a=inputbox("Server Name:")
if (a= "" )then
Msgbox "Please give correct input"
Else
set WshShell=Wscript.Createobject("Wscript.shell")
wshshell.run """C:\qat.bat""" ' Here I want to pass variable a
End if

My .bat file code can as simple as

@echo off
copy ss.txt + tt.txt "%1".txt

How to use your answer in this scenario??

SOW,

Not sure why you are double-quoting your batch file name, unless it actually resides in a directory path which has embedded spaces.

If your directory path does not have embedded spaces, this will work:
wshshell.run "C:\qat.bat " & a
(ensure a space before the last double-quote and then append the variable a.)

If your directory path DOES have embedded spaces (eg, "f dir" below) then try this:
wshshell.run """C:\temp\f dir\doit.bat"" " & a
(ensure you double-up the double-quotes around the fullpath filename to the batch file.
And this will work whether you have spaces in the path or not)