I am new to PHP. I have a MySQL database with a column of URL's. I have a PHP script that randomizes the URL's and echoes the result to the browser. I just need a need a way to turn the randomized URL into a clickable link. I would imagine maybe I need to use javascript to do this but I am not sure. I have done a ton of research but cannot find a solution, but maybe I am not looking for the correct solution. If I need to post my script just let me know. Thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

<?php
$result = mysql_query("SELECT url, title FROM links_table ORDER BY RAND() LIMIT 1");

$row = mysql_fetch_row($result);

$url = $row[0];
$title = $row[1];
echo "<a href=\"$url\">$title</a>";
?>
<?php
$result = mysql_query("SELECT url, title FROM links_table ORDER BY RAND() LIMIT 1");

$row = mysql_fetch_row($result);

$url = $row[0];
$title = $row[1];
echo "<a href=\"$url\">$title</a>";
?>

Thanks for the quick response cscgal. The problem with your solution is that I already have links setup on the page, so I am not able to echo them. Therefore I need a way to assign the query or variable to the existing links on the page. Here is the PHP script I already have:

<?php
//Open random table record
$range_result = mysql_query( " SELECT MAX(`id`) AS max_id , MIN(`id`) AS min_id FROM `table` ");
$range_row = mysql_fetch_object( $range_result );
$random = mt_rand( $range_row->min_id , $range_row->max_id );
$result = mysql_query( " SELECT * FROM `table` WHERE `id` >= $random LIMIT 0,1 ");

//Display record
while ($row = mysql_fetch_assoc($result)) {
    echo $row["url"];
}
?>

It echoes the url properly as plain text, I am just hoping there is a better way besides echoing it so I can assign the URL to my links. But I suppose with php that is the only way to fetch the data without some client side code?

Either echo the <a> Tag around the url or just use cscgal's version. It is basically and more efficient version of what you are doing and it can replace what you have done.