I have been working on a site for a while now, and finally wanted to load it up to the server. I have been working on my own computer with xampplite. Everything was working just fine. When I uploaded it, after a few little things to resolve, I got most things working just fine. But I have one major problem, each time I connect to the database I get errors. It connects fine, and when I ping the database, it is there. But as soon as I try something like:

mysql_fetch_array() or mysql_fetch_assoc() or whatever, it gives me errors. After trying all sorts of things and searching for solutions on forums, I believe that my code is good, but somehow the server's settings or the php settings are giving me problems. I tried to ask for help from my server's help thingi, but they couldn't help me with technical problems like that.

I have had a look at the php.ini file and everything looks okay there, but maybe I am missing something. I am just a novice with mysql and php.

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Can you give me the exact result resource error please. This will help me diagnose the issue.

Aslo you will need to post your script in [ code ] tags.

Hi Josh,

I am rather sure that it is some setting or permission that I need to change. The error I get is below. I have found many posts of a similar nature on many forums and I have tried all sorts of things with the code. When I take the code back to my own system, I get it to work. When I upload it to the server (also apache and mysql and copy the database exactly) I get the errors, such as the one below. I have tried to stip my database table and the database query down to the bare basics and still I can't get a single database transaction to work.

Warning: mysql_fetch_assoc(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource in /home/...mydomainname../public_html/test_DB_connection.php on line 5