I am new to PHP and have not yet learned all the syntax and commends but was wondering if an easy script can be made to copy files of the same name from one directory over to another directory thru a PHP script

in other words if I have 2 folders

1 named Folder1
the other named Folder2

and I wanted to copy files that have the same name from folder1 to folder 2 and have it replave the files currently in folder2 with the ones it copies from folder1 could this be done

EX

Folder1 has files names

help.txt
card.txt
user.txt

and folder 2 has the same files but older non updated versions ... what script could I use to copy the ones in Folder1 and replace the existing ones in folder2

Any help would be most appreeciated

I am trying to learn from all this and use this for a project at the same time ...

Thank you so much anyone that spends a few minutes of thier time to help with this

Midnite

Recommended Answers

All 38 Replies

Well, since you

trying to learn from all this and use this for a project at the same time

... than take a look at this copy().

TY amd_k8

OK I can work out that part now my only question is this ...

If I have say 24 files in a folder .... ex

12am,1am,2am,3am ETC ETC 11am, 12pm,1pm,2pm etc etc till 11pm

how would I make an array that would loop and give me each seperate file name ? in the variable that I would be using ? Any help ?

TY amd_k8

OK I can work out that part now my only question is this ...

If I have say 24 files in a folder .... ex

12am,1am,2am,3am ETC ETC 11am, 12pm,1pm,2pm etc etc till 11pm

how would I make an array that would loop and give me each seperate file name ? in the variable that I would be using ? Any help ?

Maybe you should experiment with it and see what you come up with?