I am new to Daniweb, but I have browsed the forum here for a while and it has often solved problems of mine, so now that I encountered a pickle which I cannot seem to solve in a satisfactory way using only googling, I'm asking for some hands on help:

While I am an amateur beginner when it comes to JavaScript, I feel that I can at least handle the scripting language to a level which suits my needs, however earlier today a friend asked me if I could lead her to the right direction with a class task of hers. Basically, the project at hand is to create a snippet of JavaScript which, when the user clicks the content of an HTML paragraph element, should replace said paragraph with a <textarea> and allow the user to alter the paragraph's content. Of course the textarea should be accompanied by a save and a cancel button, but seeing as it is a JavaScript class she's taking, the saving shall only be client-sided.

However, the catch is that she will not be allowed to use the innerHTML property.

So, to the question: how would one go (if it is possible, but I highly doubt it isn't) with making something like

var x = document.getElementById("id").innerHTML;

work the very same way, just not using innerHTML?

PS. I do feel this could be done in a more smooth looking and operating way by using the contentEditable attribute, but apparently the teacher asked for a textarea.

Thanks in advance for any help or constructive comments,
Jakob

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

To do this in a perfectly general way you would need to know quite a bit about the DOM and the differences between IE and other browsers.

To do it in exercise you need only make one assumption: that the first child of the <p> to be changed is a non-null text node (which it will be, if you make it so).

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 3.2//EN">
<html>
  <head>
    <meta name="generator" content=
    "HTML Tidy for Windows (vers 25 March 2009), see www.w3.org">
    <title></title>
  </head>
  <body>