Hello All,

I've been dabbling with PHP for a couple years now, nothing serious, but something has really been bugging me. I see -> and => being used all the time, almost as assignment operators but can't find squat about them in any operator list, either on php.net, or in the two books I have. Nothing in the indices. It's really frustrating. What the heck do these two "things" do??

Please help before I go MORE insane!

Thanks,

Steel Rat

Contributors
Replies
Views
11 Years
Discussion Span
Last Post by Steel Rat

-> is used for object oriented PHP. So if you have a class called user and the user class has a function called login and a variable called name. You would create an object from the class called John maybe. So to log John in you would call the login function like so $John->login(); or if you wanted John's name you would call $name = $John->name;

I did this really quick so sorry if it doesn't make sense.

Thanks, DI.

That sorta helps. Does the -> have a name I can search on? It's not an operator, is it a directive?

And any clues about the => ?

Thanks again,

SR

Thanks again.

I guess my problem is they don't explain what => or -> actially is, they just show them in use. => seems to be an assignement operator, but it also seems to be totally useless, since the foreach already does an assignment if you do

foreach ($a as $b)

There's the assignment. Using

foreach ($a as $c => $b)

just seems totally useless to me. What am I missing?

When you use foreach($a as $c => $b) then the key is copied to the variable $c. This gives you an easy way of changing the origional array if you want. Like so:

foreach($a as $c => $b)
{
  $b = '<div>' . $b . '</div>';
  $a[$c] = $b;
}

Ok, so it's not a simple assignment. it's a key or index assignment. I guess that makes sense. I see the => used all the time when populating variables for templates, but just couldn't figure out what it was doing.

Thanks again for your help!

None of that seemed easy to understand