Hi,

I'm quite new to Web Development. I'm creating a web site and it has a Registration Page where I managed to create the form. But when the user clicks on the 'CreateUser' button, how do I display a message on the form to show that the User is created. And also, at the moment, I don't know where the user details are being created. I wish to add the details to a Login Table in the SQL Database. How do I go about it please?

Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 29 Replies

Hi shers,

What your asking actually involves several in depth topics. If you could provide a little more information such as what framework you're using such as webforms or mvc, are you using lightswitch, do you want the message to show on a new page or maybe via ajax on the same page ect... it would help to answer your question a litte better. For example in Webforms you would do a postback or a cross page post to show a "created successfully" message. In mvc you would post to a controller action. In the meantime here are some topics you should do some reading on:

Asp.Net Forms Authentication

Asp.Net Mebership and Membership Providers.

The aspnet_regsql.exe *tool that comes with whichever version of the .Net Framework you're using.

Hi,

Thanks for your reply. I'm using .NET Framework 4 and Visual Web Developer 2010 Express. I started with creating a new Web Site which already had few pages. So with my little knowledge, I think it should be webforms. I modified the Registration Page to match my requirements, checked with the RequiredFieldValidator and everything goes well. But when I click on the 'Create User' button, the data should go into the database table. And also a message should be displayed on the same page for the user to know that the User is created.

Thanks