Hello Everyone!

I'm curious on how much should I charge my client to maintain his website? updates, few changes.
I am new to this job, so I am not sure how it works, i'm a freelancer.
Website Information :

1. Wordpress
  2. They have template already, and information on their website
  3. Clients just want me to update, and maintain it.
  4. And a little bit of adding some few pages. But not require a lot of work.

I'm not sure how much should i charge him per hour.
Any idea? Please help.

Thank you.

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

My view is the income must be enough for a living. Housing alone here in the USA is in most cities hitting new highs which 15USD a hour will have you living in your car and then it gets worse.

You know what your monthly needs are so it must be that much or very soon you won't be doing this.

Nooo. Don't look at what your expenses are and then charge them based on how much you need. Charge based on how much you're worth, or you're not going to have any clients at all pretty soon, because they'll all go to other freelancers who charge the market rate.

Just because I need $100,000 doesnt' mean I should charge someone $100,000 for 2 hours of easy work.

Realistically, maintaining a Wordpress site for about 5-10 hours a month of work should be about a $200/mo monthly retainer, give or take.

commented: I'm a newbie in web dev so this really helps me a lot. Thank you so much. +1

I concur with Dani where billing based on your potential and experience is concerned, however, She's put in $10/hr as a rate for you if you consider 10hrs/wk at a flat subscription of $200/mo.