Hello everybody, I am a final year student and for my final year project I have decided to try and create a price comparison website due to the fact that i feel it would be a good project to work on and develop my technical skills in C# and microsoft sql server 2005, since these are mainly the two programs I would say i have more experience with. Basically I want to create a website such as www.pricerunner.com, what i am worried about is will this be very hard or difficult to create, in other words am i biting of more than i can chew?. I would settle for a basic e-commerce site however that will probably attract a lower mark since every one will probaly go down that route.

My question is how do i start and what should be my first steps and if you can point me to any sources or books, I do know my way a bit around visual studio however i am no where near expert level, thank you.

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Start with paper. Decide how you need to model your data, what operations you'll have to do to it (e.g. sorting, searching), etc... Design your web interface separately. You'll also have to decide where you'll get your data. There may be web services you can take advantage of, or you could just mock up your own. Then you can start coding...

Thanks for replying, in terms of how real price comparison websites get there data, is it from the shops or business owners themselves?

I don't know for sure. I think Amazon had a webservice that would supply XML data, but I don't know if it was public or if you had to be one of their partners (or whatever they call 'em). That's just what we used at my school. Don't know about other places either.

Thanks for replying, in terms of how real price comparison websites get there data, is it from the shops or business owners themselves?