Hey everyone,

I am a php programmer originally and am just helping a friend of mine update their website that they paid a designer (well that's what he called himself!) to do ages ago. I have built the whole site but am having problems on the most basic thing! I have a page which querys an MS SQL database and takes url variables to query it, so it takes the value of keyword= and perpage= (eg from www.site.com?keyword=test&perpage=15) to define a keyword to search for and the number of entries to display on a page. This works perfectly.

All i want is a very simple form (or whatever you want to call it) to pass these variables from another page on my site, so if it was an html form i would just have a form, a text box for the keyword and a pull down box with a few choices for perpage, then a submit button and a post method. Simple. All done.

I tried to do this within Visual Studio but discovered that as all aspx page are effectively forms you can't define another form within so this won't work. Then read up about asp buttons and text boxes and cross page postback (as it needs to send it to another page) and thought that was how to do it. I currently have (ignoring the pulldown box for the moment):
Keyword: <asp:textbox runat="server" id="txtKeyword"></asp:textbox> Per Page: <br />

<asp:button runat="server" id="buttonPost" Text="Click" PostBackUrl="search2.aspx?keyword=<%=txtKeyword.Text%>"></asp:button>