Hi Everybody,

Sorry If i'm a bit of a noob at this. I'm wondering how to make a VB Program run in the background...If anybody knows how or has some code that would be great. Thanks for the help!

JBD2

Recommended Answers

All 19 Replies

you can make it run in the background by merely hiding the form. If you stick a timer on the form, then you can have it cycle to do something every so often. In the form load's procedure just add:

me.visible = false

Awesome!!Thanks!

Ok, Thanks for telling me that, and sorry these questions don't have anything to do with the topic but, what would I put in if I wanted my program to run when windows starts up? Thanks.

Ok, Thanks for telling me that, and sorry these questions don't have anything to do with the topic but, what would I put in if I wanted my program to run when windows starts up? Thanks.

You can make your program edit the registry on form load.... and then call your EXE. It's a good idea to give the user this option in an option form, or msgbox, so they know you are going to do this (I hate when programs try to force startup on me...)

dim wsh
set wsh = createobject("WScript.Shell")
Wsh.RegWrite "HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run\MyProgName", "c:\path2yourprogram.exe"

Obviously You need to change 2 things in the last line... you need to change "MyProgName" to whatever the name of your application is.... and you need to change "c:\path2yourprogram.exe" to the path where your program is installed. That should have it load on startup.

Thanks for the help.

Hi,

Sorry this is off topic but but i am quite a newbie to this. can i shell a program behind the VB Program? or make the shelled program hidden?

Tx

Jay

i do not wish to offend you or make any accusations
but it sounds as if you want the program to go undetected hmmmmm very suspicous

;D