Hi. I need to get a new PC. Mine is 5 years old and starting to show it's age - I can't play any good games. :-) So, I need a computer to play games (Civilization IV, fantasy RPG's, etc...) and just for regular home use. Checking email, writing letters, budgets, Quicken, etc... I don't need a super powerful machine - I don't play shooters or ever play online. I do love LOTR style fantasy games, so maybe those do need a lot of power. Can I get the kind of machine I am looking for for under $1000? Can anyone give me some suggestions for a brand? I won't be building my own machine - I am not very good at that stuff. I need one that I can sort of plug and play with.
THANKS!

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Go to Frye's - they have pretty powerful laptops for under $500.

If you have ever played with legoes, you can build a machine; if you have a son, its kind of like a bonding experience(so mabe I'm exagerating) but neweggs IS having a sale, so you might want to consider it; besides, what can possibly go wrong?

Hey! check out this build-it-yourself kit. Those 3 glowing blue cases are built from the Lubik kit - I have seen an airplane and many really weird sculptures built from these kits. You have to have the plans worked out in complete detail before you start.

If you get a notebook, don't get an HP, it has a lousy keyboard, get a Toshiba, Sony or Acer. Also, looks like the little Acer notbook comes with Widows XP rather than the frustrating Vista.

You can get a Dell computer for under $500.00 USD at Wal-Mart. Or go online at www.walmart.com to see other models. Sorry is this post seems spammy, but I'm just answering the original post.

Well, if you find a computer that does housework, let us know!

You can get a Dell computer for under $500.00 USD at Wal-Mart. Or go online at www.walmart.com to see other models. Sorry is this post seems spammy, but I'm just answering the original post.

Or maybe not.

Or maybe not.