Hello All,

I'm a new member here at Daniweb and have been looking for an IT related forum to ask this question:

In your honest opinion, employee, employer, etc., do you think it matters what college one obtains a degree in Information Technology from when it comes to high amounts of competition?

One I'm sorry if this is the wrong place to ask this question. If not could someone direct me to a forum that could assist me in this question.

Two if this is a good place for the question let me add a couple details about myself.

I am currently looking at Uni South Carolina and looking at their Integrated Information Technology degree with a minor in business from their highly regarded business college.

(http://www.sc.edu/admissions/learn/majors/integratedinformationtech.html)

To go along with this even though it probably does not pertain to the question but I'm an IT Intern at the college I'm attending (A freshman/sophomore college in Wisconsin).

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

do you think it matters what college one obtains a degree in Information Technology from when it comes to high amounts of competition

As in my opinion , The fame of the reputed college will only help you to the extent of getting a job . But ultimately , it is your talent and hard work that will mould your future.

After you get into a certain position in your life , i think no one cares about your college and from where you have been graduated.

All the best.

In your honest opinion, employee, employer, etc., do you think it matters what college one obtains a degree in Information Technology from when it comes to high amounts of competition?

Realistically, it can matter. Most of the time it only matters that you have a degree, and in IT related fields that's usually only for your first job. Every job beyond that will probably care more about your experience than your education. But it all depends on the employer.