Hello Everyone,

I am new to this website and have some questions about programming as a career. I feel that this may be a long post, so I don't particularly expect anyone to read it through to the end; although if you do and happen to possess some helpful advice, I would genuinely appreciate it.

Here's my story.

I am now 30 years old. I started college a few years ago at the local community college in my town. Last May, I completed my associates degree in Information technology, graduating with honors. I enrolled last fall at a state university, majoring in Computer Science, and am finishing up my second semester. By the time I receive my bachelors degree, I will be 32, almost 33. I suppose my first question is-Am I too old to seriously enter field like programming that I should have entered a decade ago, when I was young and too foolish to go to college?

Even if I am not too old, I'm beginning to think that I'm not cut out for programming. I started last semester with such high hopes. I was pumped and ready to learn how to code. I've always wanted to program video games, but now I'm ready to drop computer gaming as my minor. I had a horrible class this semester about game programming in direct3d. I've hated the entire semester and I am probably going to end up with a D, if I pass it at all. As far as my other programming classes have gone: last semester I received an A in my Intro to Programming class, and it only took me a few hours at most to complete any programming task I was given. This semester I have Data Structures, and it's been all I can do just to keep up. It takes me countless hours to complete an assignment, something that I feel should be easy and should only take an hour or so. I am to the point where I dread my professor posting a new assignment, and dread even more the grade that will be posted. So far in my classes we have only covered C++. I'm not sure if this is normal.