Serious question. I'm really interested in what you actually use DaniWeb for and what you get out of your membership?

1. What is the main thing you do when you are visiting DaniWeb?

2. Is there anything you'd like to do that you can't currently?

3. Do you have one tip to pass onto others so they can get the best out of their time here?

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

I'll kick things off.

1. I am here mainly for the community, to connect with other users and learn from them while hopefully sharing some of my knowledge and experience in return.

2. I'm an admin so can do anyhting I want. Muhahahaha. Or, more seriously, not that I can think of...

3. Participate. Simple as. Be that through asking or answering questions or connecting with other members. Being a passive member is OK, but being an active one is far more rewarding in my never humble opinion.

what you get out of your membership?

I'm now retired with 50 years of programming experience about to follow me into the grave. What I get from DaniWeb is a way to pass on some of that experience and learning to a new generation. It's a way of repaying all those people who did the same for me over the years.

1. I look for questions I think I can answer
  2. I'm a moderator, so I can everything I actually want to. Also Muhahha
  3. If you're asking a question include ALL the relevent information.

Pretty much the same as James. Also retired with too may years of experience under my belt. I like two kinds of questions in particular:

1. Those I can answer off the top of my head.
  2. Those that I can answer with some effort that give me a chance to learn something new.

As for the above questions...

1. I always start at https://www.daniweb.com/articles/latest to see the latest posts and check for spam, Then I go through the non-spam and look for questions that I can answer.
  2. I'm pretty much doing all that I want. As a mod I have all the power I can handle.