I am a techie novice. I used to be much more into PCs than I am nowadays so I could use some help.

I want to record Peter Walsh's radio show off XM radio. I do not currently have an XM radio because I was told they don't sell one that records (?). But I did learn that if I pay for the monthly subscription, I can also listen over the Internet. So I'm thinking...there should be some way to record the radio show as it plays over the Internet?

But how?

I have a MAC at work (10.4.8) and a PC running Windows ME at home. I tried some free downloads at work, thinking I could use software that could "record" whatever it "hears" through the audio...but for some reason it's not recording anything. (I think the old program...was it Windows Recorder?...used to do this easily but they stripped it out of Windows.)

Can anyone help?

Thanks,
Melissa

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Welcome to Daniweb....

XM radio will broadcast over an FM radio which you can set a cassette recorder to record whatever is coming over the frequency you set it :)

The radio has its own transmitter OR you can get an external one...

http://www.wholehousefmtransmitter.com/xm-fm-transmitter.php

Good luck :)

I am a techie novice. I used to be much more into PCs than I am nowadays so I could use some help.

I want to record Peter Walsh's radio show off XM radio. I do not currently have an XM radio because I was told they don't sell one that records (?). But I did learn that if I pay for the monthly subscription, I can also listen over the Internet. So I'm thinking...there should be some way to record the radio show as it plays over the Internet?

There are several different types of XM radios that record. The MyFi, Nexus, Helix and Inno.

There are several different types of XM radios that record. The MyFi, Nexus, Helix and Inno.