Hi. I've had a website for five years that used to get lots of traffic from google and it was the first search result when i searched my name.

I recently installed wordpress to make it easier for me to update the site. Then I noticed I wasn't getting anymore traffic from google. So I typed both my name and separately the full url into google and in both cases google does not return even one result within my webpage!

It returns really random other websites that link to me, but not one directly to my website! I'm not very technically advanced - this is very frustrating for me because I don't understand what happened. Any advice would be much appreciated.

I am respecting the rule of not listing my specific url but if someone who wants to help needs it to see whats going on let me know.

thank you!
rebecca

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

I recently installed wordpress to make it easier for me to update the site. Then I noticed I wasn't getting anymore traffic from google. So I typed both my name and separately the full url into google and in both cases google does not return even one result within my webpage!

What did you do with all of the pages when you switched to Wordpress?

Presumably the posts now have new URLs. Did you use a 301 redirect to tell Google where to go? It might have crawled your site, found a bunch of 404 errors, and then wiped your site from the index for some reason.

I'd also suggest signing up for Google Webmaster Tools so you can see errors that the crawler encounters. This would let you know if the problem is something crawl related.

If it's simply an SEO problem (although it sounds like you disappeared from the index altogether for some reason), you could try getting the All-in-One SEO plugin for Wordpress. Helps get the meta tags set up properly for SEO.

Good luck,
- Walkere