Looks like Dmoz is shutting its doors for good. Who is going to miss the open source directory project aka Google Directory? Being listed in there used to be awesome for SEO!! I wonder if I'm going to lose the backlinks now.

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

It is really sad, I have used a lot and I have been a volunteer editor for few years sometime ago. Is there anything else similar?

There can't be anything similar I'm afraid. Not since Google declared war on directories. If Google doesn't like it ... well, just look at forums.

I mean, of course there's still local directories like Yelp that come with reviews, of course.

My friends run https://botw.org/ but they claimed it was dying a slow death 5+ years ago. They switched to making the majority of their revenue from their local directory at https://local.botw.org/ back then. I'm not sure if it's still their primary source of income though. It looks like they now have https://bestoftheweb.com/ which appears to be a non-directory and completely different revenue model that they didn't have back then, ... so there's that.

It's all about the pivot. Look at Dazah.

Yes we will miss them. I have some backlinks from Dmoz. But now I have to lose those backlinks.

Yes, I will miss them too. I got some links in there a LONG time ago, and they were left in through many edits, clean-outs, removal of garbage, etc. I had hoped, since much of the garbage was gone, the directory would live on for a while.