I don’t have to tell you that I am new in web development …I am sure you will understated this from my question.
I was trying everything yesterday to change the link color (all links) in my website.
The problem is that in dreamweaver the links appear to be fine but in the IE7
all links was red. I did change the a:link attributes hundreds of times I also add a link2
In my css file but nothing. All changes I made was observable in dreamweaver but not in IE7 (specially the color).
So finally I discover another way, using the span style="color tag which works fine.
……any explanation why I could not do it with css, is this the proper way to color links?????
Thanks in advance

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

You said that you had a seperate CSS class for your links, right? You're on the right track then:)

Changing the default color in all browsers via CSS should be:

a:link(color:#000000}
a:active{color:#000000}
a:visited{color: #000000}
a:hover{color:#0000000}

I'm sure you know already to change the hexidecimal values to change the colors of each state.

To have two different combonations of link colors, default being one of them, you should have:

a.link2:link(color:#000000}
a.link2:active{color:#000000}
a.link2:visited{color: #000000}
a.link2:hover{color:#0000000}

Sometimes toolbars in IE have been known to overwrite css styles like that. You might want to try checking to see if you have any like google toolbar.

thanks a lot for your reply.
I have done that you said changing colours form the css file but this dint work.
Also the fact that in dreamewever, i could change the colours but not in the IE means that the answer is more complex

A few things to keep in mind

How are you linking to your CSS styles? Have you tried inline styles yet? Conditional statements? or have you checked your syntax?

There are two ways to attach an external CSS file to your html file.:

<link href="css/main.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" media="all" />

and: