I am a newbie to web design and just completed my first with Dreamweaver CS3. Used a tutorial I found on the web and all went great... Created new site, built page, uploaded... looked easy. Have since built the pages I want (only 7-8 pages), tried to put on the site and still getting the original from the tutorial.

I created new site again, then saved my completed home page to the new root file linked to the new site. Tried to put live on the web and once again only getting the original tutorial page.

Any suggestions. I have (in frustration) created a number of new sites in the site manager hoping that I would be "starting clean". I even created a new site, then a new page with only 1 change to the original sample page and I still get the tutorial product after I attempt to 'put' the page online.

Thanks in advance for any help out there.

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Are you using the same file names(just overwriting the existing files in the directory)? If so after you upload it, try to hit refresh on your browser. It is possible the page is cached. I've experienced that with Firefox when I upload my new pages sometimes. Refresh bring in the modified content.

I have (in frustration) created a number of new sites in the site manager hoping that I would be "starting clean". I even created a new site, then a new page with only 1 change to the original sample page and I still get the tutorial product after I attempt to 'put' the page online.

Are this new sites only local sites or you made changes to your web server and created there new directories? Just to clarify what you doing...

Thank you for the reply,

I did try your suggestion without success.

Thank you for the reply,

I did try your suggestion without success.

What suggestion?

There are just too many unknown variables here. Can you try to clarify with some screenshots of things like your FTP information and maybe links to the pages?