I am an Accounting Professional and would like to design a webpage for myself with the kind of services I can provide and my educational qualifications. Being an absolute novice at web designing I need some tips on how to go about designing my own. All suggestions are welcome, I am in no rush.

Thanks,

Sayvari :?:

Recommended Answers

All 24 Replies

Start here: http://hotwired.lycos.com/webmonkey/frontdoor/beginners.html

Read through it all. They'll get you started in no time. They use an excellent non-boring tone so you won't kill yourself with techno-babble. That's how I learned web design/development. Once you're done with that, go to:

http://hotwired.lycos.com/webmonkey/frontdoor/builders.html

And once you're done with that, go to:

http://hotwired.lycos.com/webmonkey/frontdoor/masters.html

I use a freebie called Arachnophilia, it comes in Easy, Moderate and Expert levels, (or words to that effect) and I find it simple to use. The fact that it's free is a bonus!

Funkynassau

I use Frontpage to design my website...it is very user friendly, a windows based program. Then I upload my files through www.angelfire.com I found this to be one of the easiest sites. It is free also, and allows 10 MB i think....plenty for a personal website. Good luck. rmn518@excite.com

I use adobe photoshop, flash mx sometimes, ulead gif animator pro (for animation); and for coding, i use microsoft's visual studio.net 2002.

If you are going open source//free, GIMP is a good graphic art program, and notepad always works. :)

[BTW: incissor thats a great TTF banner in your sig!]

[BTW: incissor thats a great TTF banner in your sig!]

Thanks! Glad you like it!

You can get a free 15 meg website at www.geocities.com. They are run by yahoo.com.
Funkynassau

Use http://www.1asphost.com/ instead. It's FREE! 100 MB, unlimited bandwidth, and hotlinking images are not restricted:

Free Deluxe Features

• 100 MB of Space
  • Instant Account Activation
  • Online Control Panel