What is Important to Ecommerce Web Design? Why do people often leave sites without buying?

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

For me it's because:

1. Didn't have what I wanted.
  2. Poor support/return policies. Some sites are just interesting in selling their imported c_ap.
  3. Poor or missing product documentation. Sites seem to omit dimensions and all the data.

Recent example: I needed a car battery because the dealer, my car guy and Amazon didn't have it. I had the old battery with dimensions and specifications as well as I'm an electronics designer so all I need is the specs. Site after site didn't have the specs on their site.

What did I do? I went to a subReddit on Prius cars to find what others were doing and found two models. Found that model on the usual site but missing specs there. But armed with the maker's name I went to the maker's website to get the specs and it was a fit. Ordered it from Amazon because return and shipping policy and it fit perfectly in spite of Amazon's site saying it didn't fit.

Bottom line. It shouldn't be that hard for us. The web site masters need to put in the time.

The important points on Ecommerce Web Design are
  • Website should be user friendly
  • Website should have payment methods which people are liked to have.
  • Website should load fast.
  • Website should be hosted in good hostings
  • Website should be secure
The reasons users leave a ecommerce website without purhsing a products are
  • People dont find the website trustworthy ( Add social Media accounts and link those accounts or pages to your site )
  • People may not buy a product because of low rating or reviews of the product ( Request customers or buyers for riviews through personalised E mail)
  • Proper and acutal details about your websiteb might be missing (Include About Us page, Contact Us page, Privacy Policy Page )