I am new in IT world and I was wondering the difference between a web designer and a web developer?

Honestly, they sounds the same to me. However, I see a lot of postings with these two position.

will someone explain to me the difference and could you tell me the average pay for each if they are different?

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

Web designers make all the pretty little pictures and layout for the website. They specialize in graphics and UI design.

Web developers make the site actually do something. They specialize in writing the code that makes websites.

IMHO, YMMV, VWP.

[i've had jobs as both... web developers ftw!] ^_- haha

The salary side will depend in which country you are, what experience level you have in certain fields etc.

You must be looking for something that pays more with little to no work, right ?

Designer, The person who designs the layout of websites and application user interfaces

Developer, Here, there is so much to represent, for some people, dhtml and css and a bit of js(or jquery) is enough for a developer, and for some people it extends to huge knowledge of javascript, ajax, python, php, asp and .net... blah blah blah sometimes it goes to .Jsp (Ftw!!)

This industry, you always need to move and keep on learning.

I am new in IT world and I was wondering the difference between a web designer and a web developer?

Honestly, they sounds the same to me. However, I see a lot of postings with these two position.

will someone explain to me the difference and could you tell me the average pay for each if they are different?

while browsing I came across an article which clearly tells about the difference between web developer and web designer
http://ezinearticles.com/?Difference-Between-Web-Designer-and-Web-Developer&id=4745175

commented: Nice link, thanks. +0

while browsing I came across an article which clearly tells about the difference between web developer and web designer