Hi All,

Newbie here building my first machine (have done upgrades before but first shot starting from scratch.

Got my machine put together, hit the power button, held my breath, and nothing....

Well a little more than nothing. The fans kicked on, the hard disk appears to be running, the dvd drive spins and seems to detect the OS disk I put in. But I get no post beep, and no monitor signal.

I have double checked to ensure that the 24 pin ATX power cord is snuggly in place, and that the RAM, Video Card, and heatsink are all seated correctly.

Anyone have any ideas?

Specs are as follows:
Motherboard: EliteGroup NF650isLIT-A
CPU: Intel Core II Quad Q660 (retail package with intel heatsink)
RAM: 2 x 1 GB A-Data DDR2 800
Video Card: MSI NX8600GT

Thanks in advance (and please don't let it be something expensive or dead, my heart will be broken!)

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

you say you have no video when you boot. Are you using a vieo card, or integrated video? if integrated video is available, use it and see it you can retrieve something visual.

The first step is to resolve the video issue, then go from there

Thanks for your help.

Unfortunatly there is no integrated video on my Motherboard, so I've really got not other option.
Even with the video issue aside, shouldn't i be getting some kind of Beep when the system starts?

Thanks for your help.

Unfortunatly there is no integrated video on my Motherboard, so I've really got not other option.
Even with the video issue aside, shouldn't i be getting some kind of Beep when the system starts?

Assuming you have all the correct parts and have installed them properly... It sounds like you've got a dead board. From my experience you wouldn't be the first either.