Hello, i am a complete noob so you guys have to explain it to me. I just recently bought a new samsung sp1614c hard drive but i didnt notice that it was SATA. i found an extra power cable and the other cable to connect it to my SATA1 slot on my motherboard, which is a MSI KT6V. When i started my computer, it didnt recognize my hard drive and it says that i didnt install one. Help!

also can u explain raid to me?

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

also its brand new but its making a scratchy sound when i try to install windows, is this normal?

Look for the sata driver on your motherboard CD.
You will need to make a floppy with the sata drivers and hit F6 when XP asks about special drivers for Raid etc...

RAID requires two drives...

also its brand new but its making a scratchy sound when i try to install windows, is this normal?

Scratchy sound ONLY while windows install means the hdd is probably OK. Sound all the time means the HDD may conk off. Get it replaced ASAP.

I also suggest running a diagnostic tool like Seagate's Seatools

:?: A Brand New loaded with WIN XP SE2 - The problenm in after some months(7) some times it boots and some times may not. When it is not booting it HD (SATA 120GB) is making a "TIC TIC" sound.

In the BOOT option the HD/CD/Floppy were detected and in the main menu - SATA/IDA, IDA was detected with CD Rom and SATA was not responding "Not Detected".

Message : Intel(R) Boot Agent PXE Base code ( PXE - 2.1 Build 084 )

PXE-E61 Media test failure, Check Cable
PXE-M0F Exiting Intel Boot Agent.

I tried all connectios Pluged / Un-Pluged. Tried to Install and the HD was not detected says "No HD Found"

What else can I do ? I am not from IT and I do not any thing about, except working on it.

Pl help. My mail ID : Ganeshkarra@itc.in

:?: A Brand New loaded with WIN XP SE2 - The problenm in after some months(7) some times it boots and some times may not. When it is not booting it HD (SATA 120GB) is making a "TIC TIC" sound.