This is my first build, and it's been a disaster so far.

My setup:

GIGABYTE GA-M61P-S3 Socket AM2 NVIDIA GeForce 6100 ATX
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 3800+
Antec earthwatts EA380 ATX12V v2.0 380W Power Supply
A-DATA 1GB (2 x 512MB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Scythe SCNJ-1100P 120mm Sleeve CPU Cooler
Microsoft Windows XP Media Center Edition 2005 w/SP2B - OEM
Western Digital Caviar SE 320GB IDE Ultra ATA100 Hard Drive
NEC DVD/RW

All of the parts are brand new except the DVD drive and the cpu. I doubt I fried anything by way of mishandling, as I know how to ground myself, and how to handle electronics. What I don't know is software, and that is killing me now.

Attempt #1 was with a clean install of windows. Computer worked beautifully, so I began loading software. I started getting the BSOD, telling me I had DRVR_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL. I figured out the problem driver, but had issues fixing it by uninstalling and re-installing the correct version. I updated the bios, and still kept getting the same error. Got mad, started over by re-installing XP.

For attempt #2, I put the right driver on the first time, and it worked for about five minutes before just powering off and restarting. Now the computer starts, begins to load XP, then powers off and starts over. It will do this several times, but then it loads fine. It boots into safe mode just fine, so I think it's a software issue, but I am clueless at this point. I did some research, and found out that I needed to disable the automatic restart in XP. Did that, still no luck. I don't get any error messages except the occasional Windows has just recovered from a serious error popup. I've tried repairing the install, but it crashed in the middle of that, so I doubt it fixed anything. I'm not getting much help from the engrish speakers at Gigabyte, and I'm at a loss here. Is it hardware or software?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies