I am new to computers so bare with me. I am taking a computer class in college, so I am slowing understanding everything. I skimmed through some of the articles so if this is a repeat I am sorry, and if I am violating any terms, sorry!

I just purchased a HP Pavilion dv6z-7000 Entertainment Notebook PC last month, it is not even a month old and the other night I got the BSoD. I have only been using the computer for school work, some web surfing, and I've watched a couple movies on it. Here is the events leading up to the BSoD:

I downloaded this application from Shutterfly.com to upload pictures off of my computer to the Shutterfly website faster.

I had a lot of pictures to upload, so while I was waiting for the pictures to finish uploading, I put in a movie in my laptop.

I was watching my movie and the pictures were almost done uploading, then all of a sudden was this horrid sound and a blue screen with an error message(I can't remember what it said), came up. The sound was horrible and loud, that I just pressed and held the power button.

Once I turned off my computer was when I realized that was the BSoD.

I turned my laptop back on and a black screen came up asking if I wanted to open in safe mode or open normally, I was going to open it in safe mode but I took too long and it opened normally.

My computer was acting like it was fine.

I opened up my Norton Anti-Virus right away, and did a full computer scan. I had 36 tracking cookies, which I honestly don't know what that means.