Hi,

I have recently uploaded a very basic site and have had it working for about 2 months. Then last night I went to update the index page and when I reloaded everything in Dreamweaver, I received this message after trying the find the site online:

You don't have permission to access / on this server.
Additionally, a 403 Forbidden error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.

Apache/2.2.6 (Unix) mod_ssl/2.2.6 OpenSSL/0.9.7a FrontPage/5.0.2.2635 mod_bwlimited/1.4 mod_auth_passthrough/2.1 Server at <link snipped> Port 80

The site needs to be up and running by this evening because it is opening this weekend! Please pplease help - I am using dreamweaver so I am a complete beginner and don't knwo where to start. I have already checked that my permissions are set the right way so it must be something else!

Thanks!

Alexis

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Can you access any other page?
See here for more info:
http://www.checkupdown.com/status/E403.html
Can you FTP to this site?
Do you know for sure that the server is up?
You should probably contact the web host.

If you have a .htaccess file in the home directory, delete it. (back it up first via FTP).

If you save your web pages as htm you cant pull them up this happen to me i made my first page with
note pad and then used NUV it changed it to my index.html to index.htm and my apache.conf use's
the html

That doesn't make sense, did you copy and paste that from somewhere?

no it makes sense. in apache there is a way to change the way the server treats file extensions. look for the line where in says .html, and add .htm to that

Yes, Actually that's correct. It's called indexing (but I don't think that's the problem here) and there's a couple of parts to this.