Hello all,

I don’t want to waste space or anything, but I’ve read post after post and I still don’t quite know what Linux to get. I have no real programming experience. I would like to try Linux just cause I looks nice and I like to tinker. Is that enough to try Linux, it looks like loads of fun.

Thank you.

Recommended Answers

All 17 Replies

You could do worse than install Ubuntu.
Based on Debian, arguably the best distribution around, but made more userfriendly (especially the installation and tools integration).

Hello,

I like RedHat / Fedora. It has worked well for me. I found Debian to be beyond user unfriendly. Documentation all over the place, but not organized in any one fashion.

If I were starting out today, I would be with Fedora, and with SuSE in second place.

Christian

Thank you,

I'll downlaod it today and try it out, and if worse comes to worse im sure someone here can help out if i have any problems.

um wow, the first reply was to j.

I have a strong desire to learn basic programming and i would like a little difficulty when starting out. With that would RedHat / Fedora be a good choice more so than Ubuntu?

Wow this is the first time that I have posted on a forum and im very impressed. Thank you both

Hello,

It just happens to be where people who know something about the topic happen to read. It is more a matter of coincidence. Sometimes several hours can go between question and answer. Your topic is more of the luckier ones.

BTW, welcome to DaniWeb.

I do not know much about Ubuntu. I do know that Redhat / Fedora, with the programming modules installed, work well. When you install, be sure to select the packages, and give yourself a lot of hard drive space to work with. I would suggest 10GB Hard drive or larger for the whole thing.

Is this your first time working with linux? If so, Let us know, and we can suggest partition sizes, and walk you through it. You will learn more than just programming... you will learn engineering.

Christian