Happy Holidays everyone!!

I am a newbie to Linux and I just purchased a high-end server for my start-up. After much research, I have decided to set up the machine with Linux.

My problem is more related to TCP/IP.

I am setting up the server to host my website and act as the center peice of my LAN until I can purchase addittional equiptment. The server has 2 NICs. One is connected to the net, the other is connected to my LAN.

My question is:

Should I keep my IP address, Netmask, Network, and broadcast addresses on both cards the same since they each connect to different zones of influence, my intranet and the internet? If I have to make the addresses for my subnet different, what range of addressing should I use if I am using a class B network size and allowing for 510 hosts using a subnet mask of 255.255.254.0?

Thanks,
Mike

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

I don't think your question has anything to do with Linux, more about Networking. The best man to answer this question is MAD_DOG on these forums. I'll get him to take a look at this question ASAP.

Don't give up, I'll hope to get this answered by tomorrow.

The one going to the WAN gets its information from a DHCP server or you supply it (you should know it already). Both nics should have different information. The Intranet should have a unique IP that is on the same network as your other computers (same subnet mask!). Class B is 255.255.0.0 or /16. Search google.com for Linux IP Masquerading HOW-TO or something.

With Linux 2.4.x you'd want to use iptables to forward the Internet to the LAN. You would also use it to port forward. It's very easy (with the HOW-TO).

Well, if you have a really crappy computer (like a 100mhz machine, laying around), and you want to make it your firewall and dhcp server, I highly suggest Smoothwall. All you need is two network cards, a 500mb hard drive, and an old processor, however you need a keyboard and monitor to install it (can be removed after install).