Hi ,

I would like to monitor upload and download datas of devices connected to the router.

I am using the following iptables rules:

sudo iptables -N DMon
sudo iptables -A FORWARD
sudo iptables -A FORWARD -d 70.70.70.1/26 -j DMon
sudo iptables -A DMon -d 70.70.70.50
sudo iptables -A FORWARD -s 70.70.70.1/26 -j DMon
sudo iptables -A DMon -s 70.70.70.50

After this i am able to see the packets and bytes counters as below

sudo iptables -L DMon -n -v

Chain DMon (2 references)
 pkts bytes target     prot opt in     out     source               destination         
 1123  886K            all  --  *      *       0.0.0.0/0            10.10.10.50         
 1160  236K            all  --  *      *       10.10.10.50          0.0.0.0/0

to parse and display only ip address and bytes i am using the below expression.

sudo iptables -L DMon -n -v -x | awk '$1 ~ /^[0-9]+$/ { printf "IP:%s DLBytes:%d \n", $8, $2 }'

to be frank i am not good at iptables and awk, i got these details from site :

http://www.catonmat.net/blog/traffic-accounting-with-iptables/

My doubt is when i use the expression ( awk '$1 ~ /^[0-9]+$/ { printf "IP:%s DLBytes:%d \n", $8, $2 }' ) which is actually converting KBytes to Bytes , but when i convert the same value using formula XKBytes = 1024 * X Bytes, i am not getting the same values.

for example:

The Download data value from iptables( sudo iptables -L DMon -n -v) : 934K
The value printed using awk expression: 934336
The actual value is : 943 * 1024 = 965632

similarly for upload:
The Upload data value from iptables: 262K
The value printed using expression: 262183
The actual value is : 262 * 1024 = 268288

First of all, I dont understand why the expression to converting KBytes to Bytes , i dont see any conversion logic in expression.
Second is it possible to change the expression to check the value in bytes field if its having K or M, then multiply the value with 1024 or 1024 * 1024 etc , if just value then its Bytes.