Howdy,

I am a novice linux user, who recently tried to configure my wireless cards to work on a dual boot system of opensuse 10.2 and winxp.

The problem:
Suse 10.2 fails to boot correctly after the configuration of my wireless cards.
After GRUB loads, it doesn't matter if I try to start suse 10.2 or suse 10.2 (failsafe), suse cannot load.
It stops after it says:

enabling syn flood protection     done
disabling ip forwarding              done
setting up hostname 'linux-ntvr' done
setting up loopback interface     done

The situation:
I got suse 10.2 and winxp dual booting on my system. I have two different wireless cards:
D-Link AirPlus G DWL-G510 Wireless PCI Card (revision A I think)
NETGEAR WG111 802.11g Wireless USB2.0 Adapter (version 1)

Both work on winxp.

After following these instructions:
http://nextgen.no-ip.org/~andrew/linux/ndiswrapper/ndiswrapperinfo.php
on how to setup ndiswrapper in order to use my winxp drivers to wirelessly connect to my router -- I have successfully installed the wrapper and verfied that my drivers were correctly installed using the:

ndiswrapper -l

command.

After that, I start up Yast and attempt to configure my network (using the instructions as a guide). I could not configure my network properly. It was late, and I shut down my computer and resigned to finish troubleshooting the next day.

Next day, I have the bootup problems. I tried putting the dvd I used to install suse and use the "rescue system" option, but it goes straight to the rescue command-line which I am unfamiliar.

Any help is sincerely appreciated.

-Isaac

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

It's rather odd the way the system freezes without an error message. Perhaps there's one in the logs.

When you get to the recovery console, try typing the following:

dmesg | more

Another good one is

syslog

See if there's any odd error messages that would relate to the freezing at startup. (Or you could just post anything suspicous-looking here.)