Hello. I am very new to programming, and obviously very ignorant to the details that follow. So I will have many questions on a variety of subjects in my time using this forum. My first question, however, should be very simple. Is online hosting from a different site better than hosting a site on your own computer? What is the differences? Thank you for any responses which you may provide.

Welcome to the techtalkforums!

I'd like to answer this question with "it depends." It depends on the site you have. If you have a site about your button collection that's not too important then you can run it from home on a free server that just runs HTML pages. If you wanted people to have access to it 24 hours a day, then you'd have to leave your computer on all the time. The speed in which they access your site would be limited to the specs of your computer, their connection speed, your network type (probably cable or dsl, depending what you use) and how busy that network is. Additional facilities such as databases, e-mail accounts, statistic tools, secure connections, FTP, and others, would be your responsibility. It would be up to you to buy these facilities, install them and manage them. These facilities can be free or can go higher $100K. For example, MySQL server Pro, a database server costs $495. There is a free version that you can use but it obviously doesn't have the features the pro has. Oracle Enterprise Edition (another database server) costs $40,000. Most web hosts go with the cheaper but stable database which is why MySQL is the most popular.