Hello. As a Software Engineer I admit a slight lack of knowledge with hardware. I am usually quite good with any hardware that is contained within the case, my issues lie in networking. Usually I fix my own computer problems, but now I have a couple networking problems that I frankly have no idea how to solve. I am wondering if anyone here can solve them:

1) My laptop cannot connect to the internet at all while in windows mode. When I "troubleshoot problems" it says the diagnostic policy service isn't running. I have tried manually starting it, but I cannot seem to get it to start. Oddly enough as long as I boot into Ubuntu I have no trouble whatsoever connecting to the internet. (This repair is non-essential since the only reason I want it is because I play certain games that have not yet been ported to Wine so I need internet on my windows partition to play them)

2) ESSENTIAL - I just moved into a new place, and there is no way for me to get wired internet. Luckily they have wireless. So I went out and bought a wireless N adapter and installed it. It worked fine at my house where I tested it, but now in this apartment I am having issues. Basically I can get a bit of internet after 0.5-1.5 hours of messing around with the tp-link software and the router (which I bought, and is also tp-link). However when I do get internet it always follows this pattern: 11Mbps (as stated by speedtest.net) for about 5-10 minutes, then 0.6 Mbps (again as stated by speedtest.net) for about 10-15 minutes, then nothing. As I am taking an online course during the summer it is obviously unacceptable to have this kind of internet connection. Last time I got my little half-hour of spotty internet by unplugging all the plugs from my adapter and plugging them all back in, but I know there has to be a better way, especially since my laptop has absolutely no trouble with the internet at all. Any suggestions?

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies