Hello all,

Im new in using this forum, so please pardon me if im asking dumb questions. Lately, i've been doing some bittorrenting. Because the files are large, so i leave my computer on overnight. Of course, i know to keep the machine cooled and giving it some break every now and then.

Heres the problem: When i checked back on my computer after only 1 hour of downloading the other day, the computer was frozen. At first, i thought its just a minor problem, so i forced shut down (held down the power button). But when i tried to turn it back on, the machine kept making intervals of long beeping sound, and the fan seems to be spining at full speed the whole time. Whats worse, the computer doesnt even start (meaning the screen kept saying "no signal"). :cry:

Did my downloading overheat my computer? or its something to do with the powersupply? or its something else... please give some advice on this...

My computer is about 2 and a half years old:

Model: Acer Aspire T100
CPU: Pentium 4 2.6GHz
RAM: DDR 256 M and Kingston KVR (dont know if thats the name of it)
HDD: WD 40G
OPTICAL: DVD ROM
LAN: 10.100 Base TX
FDD: 1.44M
SOFTLOAD: Windows XP

Be glad to give more info and specs.

Thanks alot everyone

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Please tell us the exact pattern of the beeps, and the make of the BIOS (if you know it). The different BIOS beep code patterns indicate different faults; if we can "decode" your beep pattern, we may be able to pinpoint the likely location/cause of the fault.

Try popping the RAM sticks out and cleaning the sticks and the RAM slots. From what I can guess from your beeps (as much as I can decipher, that is), this seems to be a RAM problem. But as DMR said, give us the exact beep sequence and we'll go from there.