Hi all!
As a person who has not a Computer Science degree(I am a poor web developer!),but having much desire to learn as much as I can about CS topics,I have a (maybe easy ) question about the recursive algorithm that solves the "Towers of Hanoi" puzzle.
I can understand that generally,having n discs and A,B,C pegs,the strategy is:
1.move (n-1) discs from A to B.
2.move nth disc from A to C.
3.move the (n-1) discs from B to C.Done!
but this is implemented in whatever procedural language with a function,and the one thing that changes,is the order of arguments.OK so far but how do we assure that algorithm does recursively the moves that must be done and not something else?In other words how to be sure that changing of passed arguments leads to the correct solution?Because of two recursive functions used(I have studied implementations in Pascal,C,Java so far),it was difficult for me to construct a tracetable,because at the point of second recursive function call,things get much complicated I think,due to the fact that on return of function call,first recursive function is encountered first and after that we go to second etc.
So is there any idea about how to construct a tracetable "safely",or at least how to trace the whole procedure?
I tried also to solve the problem with the physical moves of discs required,but I didn't manage to map this to the recursive function calls.And something maybe more elementary:in what sense do we have recursion in this problem/
Any help or resource would be appreciated.Thanks in advance!

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

You assure that the algorithm works by proving it works. For recursive functions (and oftentimes, for things like while loops), you can prove the function works with the following sort of strategy:

1. Prove this fact: It works when n = 0.
2. Prove this fact for any positive integer "k": If it works when n = k-1, it works when n = k.