I am signing up for classes next semester and have put off taking foreign language becuase it is something that dose not really interest me. Anyways, what would be the best foreign language to take with my degree in an employers prospective?

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

I'd say Mandarín, and second spanish

PD: I took english, but since english is your main... :P

Definitely not Mandarin. It is considered one of the hardest languages in the world to learn, so if you want to study computer science and not foreign languages, take something easier. And I should add that I have never heard of it having any advantage as far as cmsc degrees go.

Member Avatar for JenniLei

I was born in UK, but was taught mandarin. I graduated with computer science and now working as a software engineer, many clients are located around the world and quite a few in China. I have been sent there multiple times to do the client meetings and designs for new systems.
Agreed that your studying Computer Science and technical skills is what you want from it, I was taught programming/theories on my degree but I didnt really "learn" how to do it properly till I started working. All computer scientists learn how to program and having something distinctively different to everyone else provides an advantage in interviews especially a language that is difficult yet is one of the most spoken languages in the world.
Having China growing in economy, I would hate to not speak the language of the country that will do a large percentage of the worlds business.

I took Spanish and French in high school, then German and Latin in college.

I think that German, Spanish, Portuguese or Japanese would probably be helpful for a programming career with the romance languages probably being easier to learn.

Maybe you should consider in which country you would like to pursue your graduate studies. That is, if you are considering graduate studies.

Take spanish. Its more popular so you can make more contacts.