Hello I am going into my final year in september and need to come up with a topic for my final year project. I am studying Software Engineering.
Any assistance will be highly appreciated.

Kind regards

Recommended Answers

All 16 Replies

One thing you should have learned by now is how to think for yourself, and that includes coming up with ideas for projects.

how about writing your own browser? Nothing fancy that will compete with IE6 or Mozilla.

I agree that a browser is a good idea. The network portion of a browser is relatively simple. You will need to create an html interpreter, and use multithreading to load the various files that make up the page. So it's definitely a fun project.
I will be creating an online texas hold'em poker game built with flash and Macromedia Com Server.

Hello Ancient Dragon and Job,

Thak you so much for your suggestions. Creating a browser sounds like it could be fun. Do you think a browser for mobile phones and PDAs would be feasible and a good idea??

regards

PDAs often have browsers. The ones I program for do anyway -- Pocket IE on WinCE operating systems.

why dont you try out writing a database management software for any hypothetical organisation.thats what my brother did in his final year of graduation.

Hello IndianScorpion2

thank you for your suggestion. I will add that to my list of topics I could cover for my final year project which I need to present to my supervisor and it will,be up to him to choose which topic he thinks would be the best one I could do.

regards

Hello Ancient Dragon,

I have been doing some research, reading up about different browsers and I was thinking if I do web browser I could develope the browser to be used by the university or just for the computing faculty. Thanks for the advise about browsers for PDAS

Regards