Hi all;

I’m a newbie here and it looks as if I might be able to get a bit of advice on what I think should be a fairly simple project that would actually have some value in my real world if I managed to get it working.

I have successfully set up a web site with a MySQL database and I can connect to it using some simple PHP code, so that part is out of the way. The challenge will be to build on it.

Here is the background. I would like to build a database to record attendance at a variety of activities that are organized into categories. The first name and last name of the person attending, the activity category such as Outdoor Sports, Cultural or Intellectual and the actual activity is really all that is required.

Examples of activities by category might be as follows:

Category = Outdoor Sports (Activities = Archery, Swimming, Tennis)
Category = Cultural (Art, Music, Drama)
Category = Intellectual (Lectures, Seminars, Discussion Groups)

The categories are fairly static, however the actual activities are somewhat dynamic in that new ones are regularly introduced and some are dropped from the program.

Reports that would be desired might be as follows:

• All activities attended by a person between two dates, or for the current or last month, etc.
• Persons who attended a particular activity.
• Persons who attended activities in a particular category.
• Count of attendance for a particular activity between two dates.
• Count of attendance for a particular category between two dates.
• And probably a whole lot of goodies that I haven’t thought about yet.

Some database maintenance requirements would be:

• Add, delete or modify a person (First name, Last Name)
• Add, delete or modify an activity, and possibly a category.