Hi!

I am a teacher who has been appointed "tech guy" for our school science fair. I'm trying to build a database to handle the information and number crunching for the event. I've been working with Access, but we have Filemaker too. I'm pretty tech savvy, for a teacher (or so I thought!), but this database design has got me stumped!

My plan was to create a Database with these tables/forms (to cover the basic info):

Projects (Fields: ID#, ProjectTitle, Student Names)

Judges (Fields: ID#, JudgesName)

And to create another table for the evaluation forms themselves, where each record is an evaluation form submitted by a judge, more or less matching the papers that the judges fill out.

Evaluations (Fields: ProjectTitle (from Projects) JudgesName (from Judges), Criteria1 (a score out of 4), Criteria2 (a score out of 4), etc ....

So far, so good... (maybe?)

The difficulty I'm having is creating the following reports:

A report that collects and averages all of the evaluations for each project, producing an overall average score for the project. (An individual project report)

A report that takes the overall averages for each project, producing a list of the projects sorted by the overall average score. (ie. who won)

I know this seems like a pretty basic question - hopefully the answer is pretty basic. My eyes are bleeding from watching tutorials, but I can't seem to get a handle on it.

If someone can help me out with these reports (or suggest a better approach altogether), or has a sample of something similar that I can look at, I would be extremely grateful!

Thanks for your time!

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

You will want something like this (I have not double checked syntax, have not mentioned the obvious foreign keys, and didn't note any indexes):

create table project (
  id unsigned not null auto_increment,
  when date, /* so you can have the same title at the next fair */
  title varchar(128) not null
);
create table student (