Dear all,
I'm a final year computer science student and i intend to to my graduation project as an online virtual reality application.( 3D presentation for objects inside browsers ).but actually i have no idea about the best tools used nowadays to accomplish such a product. I have heard of vrml but then i discovered it is soo old by now. Also i read about the scripting features of Cult3D and how it can deal with objects exported from 3DMax or Maya.and also DirectX for windows platform. Also flash and Papervision3D , or maybe Java3D or JOGL ..
so as u can see there is a huge variety of different technologies and i need a precise opinion from people who have more experience than me as I'm still a student and i don't know which one of them will give me the highest quality , also being easy to understand, learn and deal with( I don't mean trivial but not the most complicated option as well, at least i need to be sure that implementation using this tool is guaranteed to get me results within only 1 year of work....

I have another issue confusing me... why using a programming language like Java3D to fully specify the objects , when i have something like Cult3D where i can just deal with objects already drawn using 3DMax or Maya... in what situations should i use each option and why ??

I really appreciate any help ..and i really need to hear your opinions.
Thanks In advance
Best Regards,

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

Java 3D can 'deal with objects' from other packages, but it depends what exactly you mean by 'deal with' : you can export geometry from 3DS/Maya into a form for which someone has written a Java 3D importer; with no theoretical limits whatsoever. Of course, practically, there aren't many importers. When I used J3D, I could just about get OBJ & 3DS files to display.. =D.