Excuse me, but I'm a newbie.
I have 2 years worth of learning in Borland C++ 5.0 and know a touch of programming in C++ and OOP Programming, as well as file handling.
My main concern in starting this thread, is to humbly ask anyone, to give (PLEASE!) a step-by-step procedure on how to combat the Error: BGI Directive not supported under Windows error. This is with regard to a project for school, and I urgently need to know how to compile with the #^#^$ graphics.h file, so I can proceed with further debugging my code. I'll be grateful if anyone will.
Best wishes,
Me. :mrgreen: :o

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

Error: BGI Directive not supported under Windows

seems self-explanetory (sp): unless you compile it as 16 bit DOS or equivalent it isnt going to work. This is a common error in graphics code so dont worry about it! it wont work in a 32 bit program (windows for example) so you will have to use the Windows GUI code or OpenGL/DirectX or any 32 bit graphics library.

Wow, you've been using Borland C++ for 2 years and you still have only "a touch of programming"?

Wow, you've been using Borland C++ for 2 years and you still have only "a touch of programming"?

Uh-huh, sorry. You know what they say, programming is a big ocean. You might say I've learned quite a bit(not a touch, if you find that offensive, woah :o :( ), enough to help me wade through.

This is a common error in graphics code so dont worry about it! it wont work in a 32 bit program (windows for example) so you will have to use the Windows GUI code or OpenGL/DirectX or any 32 bit graphics library.

OK, I've practically seen this on every website, but could someone please give me step-by-step instructions on how to do so, 'coz the 'every website' don't give 'em, and I'm only conversant with the type-compile-execute process, and nothing whatsoever in between (changing linker options, library options, I'm no good at, 'coz I don't know what they are :?: )
Immensely grateful for any help.