Hello everyone,
I'm new and I have next to no experience with c++ and I wish to learn.
So, these questions may seem ridiculous, and they probably are but, please answer.
What is a game engine and how to make one (in a nutshell)?
How long, if I have no experience, until I am making 3D FPS'?

Thank you

Recommended Answers

All 17 Replies

Member Avatar for iamthwee

It's best to learn using an existing game engine first. . .

*edit

Actually, scrap that. It's best to learn basic C++ first.

Thanks for replying,
but I don't even know what a game engine is...

Regards

Thanks for replying,
but I don't even know what a game engine is...

Regards

In that case it'll take you a few years to aquire the knowledge needed for such a plan. Also: You can't do it by yourself. At this time you may think you can, but you can't, trust me.

Please, just tell me what a game engine is!

Sorry for my rudeness,

GameGuy

Try this amazing site.

A game engine is what runs the game. This can be any combination of rendering engine, input, sound, messaging, saving/loading, and more. The game is then built on top of this underlying framework.

hello, I'm learning Python to use it in game development, I know a lot of things about game engines in general, we can find two types, a game engine that just contain libraires, like Panda3d, Soya3d, ... and others that allow to see and edit the hole environment of your game like Blender, Unity 3D, Gamebryo ... (for more information: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Game_engine ) ( and a list of game engines: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_game_engines)