Member Avatar for Alex_20

Good second programming language or a second programming languages to learn at once?

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

By second programming language do you mean a language you know but don't really use? It seems kind of silly to think in terms of first, second, third, etc...; you should learn as many languages as practical to benefit your skillset.

So let's start with this: what language do you already know?

I'm learning Python 3. I tryed to learn alot but did not feel comfortable with them, I know little of Lua,C++,Java. But I want to learn a programming language at the same time I'm learning Python 3.

Okay, so let's examine why Python isn't doing it for you. Since you seem unsatisfied, why is that?

It's not that I'm unsatisfied. I'm just beginning to learn python 3... I want to learn another programming language at the same time, while learning Python 3. But then again I could not even like Python in the future. But who know's.

I'd actually recommend against learning your first two languages simultaneously because you're also learning programming in general at that time. Too much information, some of it guaranteed to be conflicting due to varying syntax rules, will prove to be confusing and slow your progress.

So if you're happy with Python so far, keep learning just Python until you feel sufficiently learned or have need for a different language. That's my advice.

Once you reach that point, unless you need something different, of course, my suggestion would be Java, C#, or VB.NET.

Thanks.

Any well rounded programmer should know at least C and Assembler. And can't go wrong knowing a bit of Cobol.
But maybe I'm old fashioned :)

Thanks. :)