Hi Guys,

wondering if someone could help me please, this is probably easy for most, but im a beginner :)

i want to make an array from my dataset

dataset is from (tbl_Employees)

i want the array to hold 3 columns/items = item 1 (Username), item 2 (password) item 3 (Position)

i think i pretty much have the loop figgered out in my head, but i cant seem to fathom on how to build the array, any ideas?

many thanks guys

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

Just create a DataSet to hold the table in:

Private Function GetTable() As DataSet
    Dim con As New Data.OleDB.OleDBDataAdapter("YourConnectionStringHere")
    Dim da As New Data.OleDB.OleDBDataAdapter(New Data.OleDB.OleDBCommand("SELECT * FROM tbl_Employees",con)
    Dim ds As New DataSet
    Try
        da.Fill(ds,"tbl_Employee")
        'To reference the table, use ds.Tables("tbl_Employee")
        If ds.Tables("tbl_Employee") IsNot Nothing Then Return ds Else Return New DataSet
    Catch ex As Exception
        MsgBox(ex.ToString)
    Finally
        con.Close()
        con = nothing
        da = nothing
    End Try
End Function

As for the array (If absolutely wanted.)

Dim strAr As New List(Of String)
'To Add a new item to the list, do the following...
strAr.Add("MyString")
'As all arrays, the list will be zeroth based. 
'First index will be 0 and so on...

Hi, thanks for you reply,
how would i then use that?
basically im trying to create a login system, i can find the first "employee" but cant seem to find the next, it just bombs out the program, do you mind having look for me please, probable really obvious to you lol

Private Sub Button1_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Button1.Click

Dim con As New OleDb.OleDbConnection                     '"con" variable holds the Connection Object
        Dim dbProvider As String                                 'creates provider variable
        Dim dbSource As String                                   'creates source vaiable